AusPDC 2011 - The 9th Australasian Symposium on Parallel and Distributed Computing (Perth)




The 9th Australasian Symposium on Parallel and Distributed (AusPDC 2011) will be held in January, in Perth, Australia in conjunction with Australasian Computer Science Week, 17-20 January 2011.

Scope of the Symposium

In 2010, AusGrid event was broadened to include all aspects of parallel and distributed computing and hence was called as Australasian Symposium on Parallel and Distributed Computing (AusPDC). Following this successful event, it comes to the 9th this year in the series. In both New Zealand and Australia parallel and distributed computing has been recognised as strategic technologies for driving their moves towards knowledge economies.

A number of projects and initiatives are underway in both countries in these areas. There is a natural interest in tools which support collaboration and access to remote resources given the challenges of the countries location and sparse populations.

Topics of interest for the symposium include but not limited to:

* Multicore

* GPUs and other forms of special purpose processors

* Cluster computing

* Grid computing

* Green computing

* Cloud computing

* Peer-to-peer computing

* Service computing and workflow management

* Managing large distributed data sets

* Middleware and tools

* Performance evaluation and modeling

* Performance accelerators

* Problem-solving environments

* Parallel programming models, languages and compilers

* Runtime systems

* Operating systems

* Resource scheduling and load balancing

* Data mining

* Computational Science and Engineering

* Agent-based computing

* Reliability, security, privacy and dependability

* Applications and e-Science

The symposium is primarily targeted at researchers from Australia and New Zealand, however in the spirit of parallel and distributed computing, which aims to enable collaboration of distributed virtual organizations, we encourage papers and participation from international researchers.

Best Paper Award:

A best paper award sponsored by Manjrasoft Pty. Ltd, Australia will be presented to a paper receiving the highest quality rating. In addition, a special issue in a high quality international journal will be organized for selected best papers.

Program Committee Chairs:

- Jinjun Chen, Swinburne University of Technology

- Rajiv Ranjan, University of Melbourne

Program Committee (To be extendd):

Jemal Abawajy, Deakin University, Australia David Abramson, Monash University, Australia David Bannon, Victoria Partnership for Advanced Computing, Australia Rajkumar Buyya, University of Melbourne, Australia Geoffrey Fox, Indiana University, USA Andrzej Goscinski, Deakin University, Australia Kenneth Hawick, Massey University, NZ John Hine, Victoria University of Wellington, NZ Nick Jones, University of Auckland, NZ Wayne Kelly, Queensland University of Technology, Australia Laurent Lefevre, INRIA, University of Lyon, France Andrew Lewis, Griffith University, Australia Teo Yong Meng, National University of Singapore, Singapore Lin Padgham, RMIT, Australia Srikumar Venugopal, University of New South Wales, Australia Yun Yang, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia Albert Zomaya, The University of Sydney, Australia

in conjunction with

Australasian Computer Science Week, 17-20 January 2011


Submission deadline: 16 August 2010

Type of submission: full research paper, full industry experience/demo paper, or extended abstract.

Submission site:



The 9th Australasian Symposium on Parallel and Distributed Computing

(AusPDC 2011)

Perth, Australia, 17-20 January, 2011


Event Date & Time: 
Monday, January 17, 2011 - 00:00 to Thursday, January 20, 2011 - 00:00